Does the US have a poet laureate?

Does the US have a poet laureate?

Originally known as the Consultant in Poetry to the Library of Congress, the current title was developed and approved by an Act of Congress in 1985. Joy Harjo is the current Poet Laureate (as of 2019).

Harjo is a member of the Alaskan Natives who serves as their spokesperson in politics and culture. She has been praised for her activism with groups such as Native Americans United and Women's Action for New Directions. She also received praise for her role in creating one of the first national monuments in America in 2004 with her husband Danny Kalehougeau. This monument is called The Great Salt Lake Desert Island Monument and it covers an area of about 20,000 acres. It is located on tribal land near Baker, Oregon.

She has written several books including two memoirs One Woman's Journey and Blood Running Black. Her work has been published in numerous magazines and newspapers including The New York Times, Los Angeles Times, Washington Post, and USA Today.

So yes, the United States does have a poet laureate who is selected by Congress every four years. Joy Harjo was appointed in 2009 and she was re-appointed for another term in 2013.

Who is the national poet of America?

Joy Harjo, the current incumbent Harjo, Joy The Poet Laureate Consultant in Poetry to the Library of Congress, often known as the United States Poet Laureate, is the country's official poet. She is appointed by the President with the advice and consent of the Senate.

Harjo was selected by Barack Obama on January 23, 2009. Her term will expire on January 23, 2019. She will be paid a salary of $125,000 per year plus reasonable expenses.

She is also an enrolled member of the Muscogee (Creek) Nation, and thus carries the honorary title "Lady" before her name. She has been called "the first female Native American poet" and "the first Indigenous woman to have a work selected for the National Poetry Collection".

Besides being a poet, Harjo is a civil rights activist who has fought against the Indian Removal Act and the Trail of Tears. She has also campaigned for the protection of sacred lands and threatened species such as the buffalo.

In addition to writing poetry, Harjo sings, plays guitar, drums, and other instruments. She has released several albums of poetry and music that have received critical acclaim.

Harjo was born on March 20, 1959 in New York City.

When did the position of Poet Laureate Consultant in poetry change?

From 1937 through 1986, the post was known as "Consultant in Poetry to the Library of Congress," and from 1986 to the present, it was known as "Poet Laureate Consultant in Poetry." On December 20, 1985, Congress passed Public Law 99-194, changing the name, which took effect on January 3, 1986. The bill was introduced in the Senate by Edward M. Kennedy and in the House by William H. Taft IV. President Ronald Reagan signed the bill into law.

In a statement announcing the change in title, Senator Edward M. Kennedy said the new designation would "give the office greater visibility and prestige." He also noted that the job was formerly held by John Milton (1608-74) and Robert Southey (1774-1843).

The Library of Congress has the authority to appoint individuals to serve as poet laureates. Currently, the library's president makes the appointment and may select any citizen over the age of 30 who is not already serving as another nation's poet laureate. The position carries with it an annual salary of $65,000.

Congress first authorized the creation of a poet laureate in 1937 when the post was called "consultant in poetry." At the time, only Massachusetts had someone designated as a poet laureate. The position was meant to be an honorary one that would not interfere with other duties that the library's assistant librarians might have.

Does the President pick the poet laureate?

With Presidents' Day approaching in the United States, we're thinking a lot about the Poets Laureate, the nation's official poets. The Librarian of Congress appoints the Poet Laureate Consultant in Poetry to the Library of Congress for a one-year term that runs from October to May. The president can serve no more than two consecutive terms.

The first Poet Laureate was Robert Carter Shumann who served from 1945 to 1951. He was selected by President Harry S. Truman and died in office after falling off a boat while fishing. His wife, Mary Stott Shumway, then became the second Poet Laureate. She held the position from 1951 to 1957.

Since then, there have been nine other Poet Laureates including James Dickey who served from 1979 to 1980 after winning the National Book Award for his collection "Mountains Without Music." In 1981, Allen Ginsberg was appointed by President Ronald Reagan and remained in office until 1993 when he resigned over differences with the Library of Congress regarding its support for AIDS research and education.

The most recent appointment was made in 2009 by President Barack Obama and his choice is Maya Angelou. She has been named as Poet Laureate Consultant in Poetry to the Library of Congress which means she will help choose the next person who will be called upon to lead readings at events throughout the country and the world.

About Article Author

Michele Hernandez

Michele Hernandez has a degree in English and Creative Writing from California Polytechnic State University. She loves reading books, writing about books, and teaching people how to write. She hopes one day to become a published author, but for now she's happy writing articles about books and other things that interest English speakers around the world.

Related posts