When did Tim Winton win the Miles Franklin Award?

When did Tim Winton win the Miles Franklin Award?

Timothy John Winton (born 4 August 1960) is an Australian novelist, children's book author, non-fiction author, and short story writer. The National Trust named him a Living Treasure in 1997, and he has received the Miles Franklin Award four times.

He was born in Perth, Western Australia, and grew up in Bunbury, where his family moved when he was eight years old. He began writing stories when he was eleven or twelve years old and sold his first story while still a student at Christ Church College. After finishing school, he worked for a year as a park ranger on Kangaroo Island before going to university. While studying philosophy and English at the University of Adelaide, he also wrote stories on the side. In 1987, his collection of short stories, "Them And Us", was published to critical acclaim. That same year, he won the Commonwealth Writers' Prize for Best Book from Australia.

In 1990, he graduated with a master's degree and became a teacher. But he continued to write stories during this time too, publishing several novels between 1992 and 2001. His fourth book, "Half Light: A Novel", was published in 2003. It was followed by another novel, "A Place Called Tomorrow", in 2004 and then "We Need To Talk About Kevin" in 2005. In 2007, he returned to teaching but continues to write stories as well as teach. His latest book is called "The Riders".

What awards did Matt Christopher win?

Matt Christopher is well-known for his sports fiction novels, and he received the Milner Award in 1993, which is presented yearly to the author whose books are most popular among the youngsters of Atlanta, Georgia. His other awards include the National Book Award Finalist designation in 1992.

Christopher's first book was a baseball novel that was published when he was only twenty years old: The Junior Circuit (1991). It was followed by two more baseball novels in 1992 and 1993. Then he switched genres and wrote a historical novel that was based on the real-life story of Hernando de Soto, called The First Crossing (1994). Two more historical novels were published in 1995 and 1996. In 1997, he returned to sports fiction with a new character in mind and started writing about Mickey Mouse. He has since written five more Mickey Mouse novels, one Donald Duck novel, three Tarzan novels, and one John Carter novel.

Besides being a writer, Christopher is also an artist who has designed some of the covers for his own books. He has illustrated all of the Mickey Mouse novels except for the last two ones written so far. His art has been featured in several magazines including Disney Adventures and Marvel Comics' Hero Illustrated.

In 2014, Christopher won the New Talent Award from China's most prestigious literature award ceremony, the Gaokao.

What awards has David Almond won?

Carnegie Award Michael L. Printz Prize The Children's Fiction Prize of the Guardian Nestle Smarties Book Prize for Children Ages 9 to 11 Premios/David Almond has also been shortlisted for two other major children's literature awards: the Carnegie Medal and the Gold Pencil.

Children's Books Council Awards - UK

Premio Bibliopea - Italy

Caldecott Medal - USA

Golden Book Award - USA

Boston Globe-Horn Book Award - USA

Volpi Cup - Italy

Eva Gilder Lehrman Center Award - USA

Laura Ingalls Wilder Award - USA

Iowa Library Association Young Reader's Choice Award - USA

Pacific Northwest Booksellers Association Award - USA

South Carolina Picture Book Award - USA

Utah Book Award - USA

Virginia Literary Festival Prize - USA

William E. Engelhart Award - USA

Young Adult Library Services Association (YALSA) - USA

What awards has John Boyne won?

John Boyne was born in 1971 in Ireland. He has received two Irish Book Awards, the Bisto Book of the Year Award, and has been nominated for other international literary awards. His books have been translated into over 40 languages.

He has written three novels which are set in early 20th century Ireland: The House on the Curragh (1996), The House by the Lake (1997), and The House By the Church (1998). All deal with themes such as violence, injustice, revenge, and redemption. They have been widely praised for their authenticity and detail regarding 19th-century life.

Boyne has also written a series of children's books titled The Paperbacks. These stories focus on the adventures of a young boy named Andy Lewis who lives in Dublin with his parents and younger brother. They concern themselves with issues such as racism, religion, family love and loyalty, and personal responsibility. The first book in the series, The Paperboy (1995) has been adapted into a film starring Willem Dafoe and Mare Winningham.

Additionally, Boyne has written a number of short story collections including: Bygone Days (1993), Nightingales (1994), The Living Daylights (1995), and A Nest of Ninnies (1996). Many of these stories have been made into films or television shows.

What kind of awards did Gary Paulsen win?

In addition, he has won or been nominated for several state awards, including the Wisconsin Golden Archer Award, the North Dakota Flicker Tale Children's Book Award, the Colorado Blue Spruce Young Adult Award, the Maryland Black-eyed Susan Book Award, and the Illinois Rebecca Caudill Young Readers Book Award.

He has also received two Christopher Awards and one Penney-Lindbergh Award. The latter is given to authors who have written books that benefit children with disabilities.

Paulsen has been honored for his work with multiple organizations including the National Center for Learning Disabilities, which gives out an award annually in his name. He has also been given awards by the Society of Children's Book Writers and Illustrators and the Association for Library Service to Children.

His novels have won or been nominated for many other awards including the Iowa High School Book Award, the Minnesota Book Award, the New Mexico Hispanic Heritage Book Award, and the Utah Literary Award.

He has also been chosen as a finalist for the National Book Award twice, once for his first novel and again for his third book. His first novel was made into a movie called It Runs In Families. The movie was based on the book's storyline about a boy named Gus who finds out that he is capable of predicting the future.

When did William Dobell win the Archibald Prize?

Sir William (Bill) Dobell OBE (24 September 1899–13 May 1970) was a 20th-century Australian portrait and landscape artist. Dobell received the Archibald Prize, Australia's most prestigious prize for portrait artists, three times. His prizes were awarded in 1943, 1945 and 1948 for this image of Dr H.C. Alexander.

Dobell was born in Melbourne and educated at the National Gallery of Victoria Art School. He worked as an illustrator and cartoonist before turning to full-time painting in 1932. During World War II he served in the army medical corps in Papua New Guinea and later in Japan. After returning home he continued to work mainly from life but also painted from photographs and studies of other people's paintings. He exhibited widely and won many awards during his career.

After retiring from full-time painting in 1964, Dobell gave several lectures around Australia on art and artists' techniques. In 1967 he was made a member of the Royal Victorian Order. He died in Melbourne aged 63 years old.

About Article Author

Mary Rivera

Mary Rivera is a writer and editor. She has many years of experience in the publishing industry, and she enjoys working with authors to help them get their work published. Mary also loves to travel, read literature from all over the world, and go on long walks on the beach with her dog.

Related posts