Which writer has won 2 Pulitzer Prizes in the biography category?

Which writer has won 2 Pulitzer Prizes in the biography category?

Winners on many occasions Ten persons have twice received the Pulitzer Prize for biography or autobiography: Burton J. Hendrick was born in 1923 and died in 1929. Allan Nevins, both in 1933 and 1937. John A. Garraty in 1947. Edmund Morris in 1975. David Herbert Donald in 1991. Peter James Delaney in 1993.

This list includes two writers who have been given the award more than once. In 1963, Charles Jackson was awarded the prize for his life of Franklin D. Roosevelt. In 1995, Edmund Morris was awarded the prize for his life of Abraham Lincoln.

John A. Garraty was the first person to receive the prize for both biography and history. He was honored for his lives of George Washington and Thomas Jefferson in 1933 and 1937 respectively.

In 1947, John A. Garraty wrote another biography about a third president, William Howard Taft. This time he was nominated for writing about Theodore Roosevelt.

In 1975, Edmund Morris published "The Boys of Winter" which dealt with the life of Lincoln from 1857 until 1865 when he became president himself.

In 1991, David Herbert Donald wrote "Lincoln: A Biography" which was also nominated for the Pulitzer Prize.

How many African Americans have won the Pulitzer Prize?

On Monday, the Pulitzer Prize jury unveiled the 2017 winners during its 101st annual event. Four black writers were acknowledged for their work among the 21 recipients of the coveted literary prize. They are: Jennifer Allen, Daniel Bergner, Eileen Boyle and Nell Casey.

The four writers honored this year spent time covering social issues within the United States. In this case, they focused on racial inequality. The prizes are given out annually by the members of the Pulitzer Board to authors of outstanding works of fiction, non-fiction and poetry published in the previous year. No writer may be awarded more than three prizes during their lifetime.

Allen writes for The New York Times about young people living in Chicago's South Side community. Her work has been recognized twice before, in 2015 for her article "A Year in the Life of an Inner City School" and in 2011 for another piece called "Why Are There So Few Black Teachers?"

Bergner is a staff writer at The New York Times who covers crime and justice issues within the United States. He was also part of the team that won the Pulitzer Prize in 2008 for its coverage of the Iraq War.

Boyle is a staff writer at The New York Times who focuses on national affairs.

How many Pulitzer Prizes did John Updike win?

There are two Pulitzer Prizes in circulation. One is awarded by the board of directors of The Pulitzer Prize, Inc., and the other by the president of the United States.

Updike received two Nobel prizes, one in literature and one in history, and several other awards. He was also a member of the American Academy of Arts and Letters and the National Institute of Arts and Letters.

He published four novels and three collections of short stories in the English language. His novel Rabbit Angstroms: A Novel with Animations is considered by some to be his masterpiece.

It won the 1975 Newbery Medal for best novel for children and the 1976 Carnegie Medal for outstanding book for a young person. It was followed by two more novels in the Rabbit Angstrom series.

Updike wrote two other bestselling novels that were not written by Rabbit Angstrom. They are Centaur: A Comedy of Visions and Beowulf: A Translation from the Icelandic.

Centaur received the 1969 National Book Award for Fiction. It was followed by another successful novel, Rabbit Redux, which was released in 1979.

How did Joseph Pulitzer become famous?

Pulitzer established a journalistic style that is being used today. Pulitzer made the St. Louis Post-Dispatch and the New York World profitable by combining thought-provoking editorials and news with crime and public interest topics. He is best recognized for establishing the Pulitzer Prize.

Booth Tarkington (1919 and 1922), William Faulkner (1955 and 1963), John Updike (1982 and 1991), and Colson Whitehead have all received the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction twice (2017 and 2020).

How do you get nominated for a Pulitzer?

The Pulitzer Prizes in Journalism are given out in fifteen different categories. Any individual may submit an entry based on content from a United States newspaper, magazine, or news website that publishes on a regular basis throughout the calendar year and adheres to the highest journalistic norms.

Submissions must be made by 5 p.m. Eastern Time on March 1. The judges who select the winners are asked to consider such factors as editorial quality, innovation, and social value. They also look at how well the work represents its subject area. Judges cannot give awards to themselves or members of their families.

Past winners include prominent journalists such as Shirley Chisholm (women's rights), Joe Nocera (business journalism), David Von Drehle (politics).

Nominations for the 2016 prizes will be accepted through April 1. The 2015 winners were announced on April 2.


General News Photography

Public Service

Business Reporting

International Reporting

Editorial Writing


Spot News Photography

Web-Only Content


About Article Author

James Beamon

James Beamon is a writer, publisher and editor. He has been working in the publishing industry for over 10 years and his favorite thing about his job is that every day brings something new to work on, whether it be author interviews, social media trends or just finding the perfect quote to use in an article.

Related posts