Who got the 56th Jnanpith Award 2020?

Who got the 56th Jnanpith Award 2020?

So far, the Jnanpith prize has been given to sixty (60) writers, seven of them are women. Sanjay Suri was the most recent recipient of the award in 2021. Sanjay Suri is the most recent Jnanpith award laureate in 2021, having received the honor in 2020. He is a writer and journalist who has worked with The Indian Express since 1995. Before joining The Indian Express, he had an article published in India Today magazine in 1993.

The Jnanpith awards are administered by the Department of Culture of the Government of Maharashtra. The awards are given annually for outstanding contributions to literature. The winners are selected by a committee of literary figures appointed by the government of Maharashtra.

Of the seven women who have won the award, two were from Maharashtra: one from Marathi language literature and the other from Hindi language literature. The others came from different parts of India including Kashmir, Punjab, Assam, Manipur, Meghalaya, Arunachal Pradesh, Nagaland, and Delhi.

In addition to the Jnanpith awards, the Government of Maharashtra also awards another state-level literary prize called the Sangeet Natak Akademi Award. This award is given to artists in various disciplines such as music, dance, drama, and film. It was created by the Sangeet Natak Akademi, India's highest institution for the promotion of music and dance.

Which of the following works has won a JNAPITTH award?

The prize has been given to 58 writers, including seven female authors.

Jnanpith Award
Reward(s)₹11 lakh (equivalent to ₹13 lakh or US$19,000 in 2019)
First awarded1965
Last awarded2019
Most recent winnerAkkitham Achuthan Namboothiri

Who got the first Jnanpith award in Hindi?

The Bharatiya Jnanpith Honor is the oldest and highest Indian literary award, granted yearly to an author for their "great contribution to literature"...

Jnanpith Award
Most recent winnerAkkitham Achuthan Namboothiri
Total awarded60
First winnerG. Sankara Kurup

Who was the first person to win the Jnanpith Award?

In 1965, G. Sankara Kurup received the inaugural Jnanpith award for his work on Odakkuzhal. In Malayalam, he wrote Odakkuzhal. Jnanpit Awards were given to a total of seven female writers until 2014. Ashapurna Devi was the first woman to get the Jnanpith award for her contribution in Pratham Pratisruti in Bangla.

After her death in 2008, her daughter Santha Kumar claimed that she was the first recipient who won the award for her work. But the government of India does not agree with this claim and has not included her name in the list of winners.

The Jnanpith Award is considered the highest literary honor in India. The awards are administered by the Indian Council for Cultural Relations (ICCR) and consist of two awards: one is given for children's literature and the other is given for writing in any language. The awards are named after the father of modern science Jagadish Chandra Bose.


Jagadish Chandra Bose was a Indian scientist who discovered radio waves in 1883. He also invented new techniques for treating diseases using electricity. After retiring from the Indian Imperial Research Institute in Kolkata, he returned to India in 1930 to take up research at the Calcutta University. He died in 1958 at the age of 90.

Bose is known for his works on physics, astronomy, and mathematics.

Is the Jnanpith Award given by the government of India?

1. The Jnanpith Award is presented to any Indian citizen who publishes in India's eighth scheduled language. The Jnanpith Award was first presented in 1965. It is administered by the Government of India through the Department of Culture, Ministry of Culture.

The award consists of a gold medal and a cash prize. The amount of the prize money is 25000 rupees (approximately $500). The winner is chosen by an expert panel appointed by the government. The jury is selected from among prominent writers, journalists, orators, film directors, actors, musicians, and scientists living or dead.

The award ceremony is held annually in January in New Delhi. Prime Minister Narendra Modi announced in his annual speech at the Raisina Dialogue conference that the upcoming year's award would be given to APJ Abdul Kalam for his contributions to science and technology.

Kalam died in August 2016 at the age of 95. The award ceremony was postponed this year due to the death of Kalam. It will be held next year on January 4, 2018.

Modi has also been criticized for giving the award to Kalam despite allegations that he had ties with Russia post-1991 when Moscow banned American products.

About Article Author

Victor Wilmot

Victor Wilmot is a writer and editor with a passion for words. He has an undergraduate degree in English from Purdue University, and a master's degree in English from California State University, Northridge. He loves reading books and writing about all sorts of topics, from technology to NBA basketball.

Related posts